Form Tools
auto-select option - Printable Version

+- Form Tools (https://forums.formtools.org)
+-- Forum: Form Tools (https://forums.formtools.org/forumdisplay.php?fid=1)
+--- Forum: General Discussion (https://forums.formtools.org/forumdisplay.php?fid=5)
+--- Thread: auto-select option (/showthread.php?tid=30486)



auto-select option - egovir - Jan 12th, 2018

Hi.  I have 2 option lists, for example with colors (red, green, blue), and other one with items (dog, cat, ball).
Is there some way or alternative to do the following:
If i select item from list A {red}, it will automatically select option from B from other list as well, {dog}, etc.
Basically to make "bound options" of some sort.
?


RE: auto-select option - alexh - Jan 12th, 2018

(Jan 12th, 2018, 3:20 AM)egovir Wrote: Hi.  I have 2 option lists, for example with colors (red, green, blue), and other one with items (dog, cat, ball).
Is there some way or alternative to do the following:
If i select item from list A {red}, it will automatically select option from B from other list as well, {dog}, etc.
Basically to make "bound options" of some sort.
?

Unfortunately you can't do this with an internal form, or with form builder.  You can definitely do this with an external form with a little bit of programming.  Check out https://css-tricks.com/dynamic-dropdowns/ or google jquery dynamic dropdown. Hope that helps :-)


RE: auto-select option - egovir - Jan 13th, 2018

(Jan 12th, 2018, 8:18 PM)alexh Wrote:
(Jan 12th, 2018, 3:20 AM)egovir Wrote: Hi.  I have 2 option lists, for example with colors (red, green, blue), and other one with items (dog, cat, ball).
Is there some way or alternative to do the following:
If i select item from list A {red}, it will automatically select option from B from other list as well, {dog}, etc.
Basically to make "bound options" of some sort.
?

Unfortunately you can't do this with an internal form, or with form builder.  You can definitely do this with an external form with a little bit of programming.  Check out https://css-tricks.com/dynamic-dropdowns/ or google jquery dynamic dropdown. Hope that helps :-)

sadly, i need it for the internal form, but thank you for the reply anyway.


RE: auto-select option - alexh - Jan 13th, 2018

(Jan 13th, 2018, 3:16 AM)egovir Wrote:
(Jan 12th, 2018, 8:18 PM)alexh Wrote:
(Jan 12th, 2018, 3:20 AM)egovir Wrote: Hi.  I have 2 option lists, for example with colors (red, green, blue), and other one with items (dog, cat, ball).
Is there some way or alternative to do the following:
If i select item from list A {red}, it will automatically select option from B from other list as well, {dog}, etc.
Basically to make "bound options" of some sort.
?

Unfortunately you can't do this with an internal form, or with form builder.  You can definitely do this with an external form with a little bit of programming.  Check out https://css-tricks.com/dynamic-dropdowns/ or google jquery dynamic dropdown. Hope that helps :-)

sadly, i need it for the internal form, but thank you for the reply anyway.

Great feature request though!