Posts: 3
Threads: 2
Joined: Sep 2009
Reputation:
0
Hi, I want to know if its possible to validate two fields,
I have a field "city" type select and field "section" type text,
Now, each city (I have about 100) have about 8 sections, but I don't wanna show the sections for each city, I want validate the sections depends of the city selected, if the section typed doesn't correspond to city sections show and error in the section filed.
its possible?
Posts: 2,456
Threads: 39
Joined: Dec 2008
Reputation:
6
Hi Checog,
Sure, no problem! For the PHP validation, that's no problem - you can just test for the city value, then run the appropriate validation rules. For JS, you need to use the following rule format:
Code: rules.push("if:city=Vancouver,required,field1,Please enter field 1.");
rules.push("if:city=Seattle,required,field2,Please enter field 2.");
In that example, field1 will only be validated (checked it's been filled in) if and only if the user has selected Vancouver in the city field.
Hope this helps!
- Ben
Posts: 3
Threads: 2
Joined: Sep 2009
Reputation:
0
(Sep 19th, 2009, 1:16 PM)Ben Wrote: Hi Checog,
Sure, no problem! For the PHP validation, that's no problem - you can just test for the city value, then run the appropriate validation rules. For JS, you need to use the following rule format:
Code: rules.push("if:city=Vancouver,required,field1,Please enter field 1.");
rules.push("if:city=Seattle,required,field2,Please enter field 2.");
In that example, field1 will only be validated (checked it's been filled in) if and only if the user has selected Vancouver in the city field.
Hope this helps!
- Ben
For example, how to validate:
If I have a field City and field regcode, city field its type select and regcode its text type, user have to enter this value manually
In regcode field, If city=Vancouver and regcode= 1125 or 1518 or 2115 or 3425 its valid, any other value its incorrect
Each city have about four or nine valid regcodes, I want to validate that each user insert a valid code for the city that has been select.
Posts: 3
Threads: 2
Joined: Sep 2009
Reputation:
0
finally it works, I did use:
rules.push("if:city[]=Vancouver,reg_exp,regcode,^\s*(1125|1126|1127)\s*$, wrong regcode city");
Posts: 2,456
Threads: 39
Joined: Dec 2008
Reputation:
6
|