Posts: 15
Threads: 6
Joined: Mar 2009
Reputation:
0
when the installation reaches step 4... the config.php file is indeed automagically generated... however, i receive this error from the browser:
The browser has stopped trying to retrieve the requested item. The site is redirecting the request in a way that will never complete.
btw: that was firefox, but safari gave me the same error. i have set the proper permissions for the cashe folder, globals folder...? not sure what's going on.
any help would be much appreciated!
mizison
Posts: 40
Threads: 7
Joined: Mar 2009
Reputation:
0
Hey...
How about a little more info on your set up. It'll help with troubleshooting.
For example:
Windows or Linux server?
Apache?
php version?
Have you tried uploading all of the FT files again to make sure you're not missing any and to make sure they all got there ok?
Are you blocking any cookies? Actually... off-hand, this sounds like a possible culprit.
Not sure if I can help you, but if you supply more information, there's a better chance that someone here can help you out.
Posts: 11
Threads: 3
Joined: Apr 2009
Reputation:
0
Open (config.php) in /global directory and input the values for your database settings:
// database settings
$g_db_hostname = "hostname";
$g_db_name = "database";
$g_db_username = "username";
$g_db_password = "password";
$g_table_prefix = "tableprefix";
?>
Refresh on (step4).
Then (manually) enter step5.php in the url.
Hope this helps.
-mvpacific
Posts: 4
Threads: 0
Joined: Jun 2009
Reputation:
0
Jun 18th, 2009, 5:02 AM
(This post was last modified: Jun 18th, 2009, 5:42 AM by Remodeler44.)
Let me start with my specs:
OS: WinXP (grrr...lol)
Server: Sambar 7
PHP: 5.2
MySQL: 5
I am having the same problem.
I followed what you said (Open (config.php) in /global directory and input the values for your database settings: )
This worked in getting me through the install process (whew...thanks) but now after deleting the install folder as directed, I can't get the admin login page to load. (.../formtools/index.php)
Here is what is shown in the error log:
[18-Jun-2009 09:34:36] PHP Notice: Undefined variable: g_session_type in E:\Sambar7\sambar70\docs\newJAG\formtools\global\session_start.php on line 3
[18-Jun-2009 09:34:37] PHP Warning: Smarty error: unable to read resource: "eval.tpl" in E:\Sambar7\sambar70\docs\newJAG\formtools\global\smarty\Smarty.class.php on line 1095
[18-Jun-2009 09:34:38] PHP Notice: Undefined variable: g_session_type in E:\Sambar7\sambar70\docs\newJAG\formtools\global\session_start.php on line 3
[18-Jun-2009 09:34:40] PHP Notice: Undefined variable: g_session_type in E:\Sambar7\sambar70\docs\newJAG\formtools\global\session_start.php on line 3
[18-Jun-2009 09:34:42] PHP Notice: Undefined variable: g_session_type in E:\Sambar7\sambar70\docs\newJAG\formtools\global\session_start.php on line 3
Any thoughts?
Posts: 4
Threads: 0
Joined: Jun 2009
Reputation:
0
No takers?
Sad, because I really would like to use Form Tools.
Posts: 2,456
Threads: 39
Joined: Dec 2008
Reputation:
6
Hey remodeler,
Hmm... the eval.tpl line could be a problem - the other notices are nothing to worry about. They shouldn't BE there, but it's not a huge concern.
I don't suppose you could set me up with a temporary FTP account so I could log on and take a look directly? Are you running this locally? Probably isn't possible, but I thought I'd ask...! Just email me at ben.keen@gmail.com if you're able.
- Ben
Posts: 13
Threads: 3
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation:
0
Jul 3rd, 2009, 10:33 AM
(This post was last modified: Jul 3rd, 2009, 10:36 AM by alrioart.)
Hey Ben - this is Terry. Long time version 1.x user.
Trying to install version 2 and running into this same problem. I *was* stuck on this step and the installation will not advance until I did the work-around posted above by mvpacific.
I tried re-uploading all of the files, but that didn't help any.
I tried using multiple web browsers (Safari, Firefox - Mac, IE 7 - PC).
I created my own config file and uploaded it to the global directory.
When I hit "create file" - the page loads but goes nowhere.
I used mvpacific's work-around and just entered step5 in the url and was able to continue.
OS: Linux
MySQL: 4.1.22-standard
PHP: 5.2.8
FYI,
Terry
Posts: 4
Threads: 0
Joined: Jun 2009
Reputation:
0
Yes, I am running this locally.
Posts: 9
Threads: 2
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation:
0
I had the same problem, though the recommended fixes weren't working. After some debugging, I discovered that the password wasn't being read from the config.php file properly. Specifically, I had a '*' in my database username password, and when I output the value the entire password consisted just of the asterisk, even though the config.php had the full password.
Changed my password and found myself in business.