Posts: 4
Threads: 1
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation:
0
Hi, first of all Form Tools is amazing it has solved all my problems with forms. I hated installing forms in the past due to the hazzle of having them work. Im a ux designer not a hardcore programmer and no matter What I allways ran into several problems with form submition and or validation.
Heres my problem, we are launching a wedding invitation service and we are paying quite a bit on adwords/facebook ads. In order to track conversions adwords passes the URL of each visitor some parameters like this:
http://www.invitame.mx/?gclid=CNCftJmwwK...NAod8C4ksA
I need to pass this parameters onto the thankyou for submiting page, but they get lost after submision since formtools is on another domain. How would I go to fix this?
What should I do to make formtools pass on this data to the thankyou page.
Thanks a lot for any replies.
Posts: 2,456
Threads: 39
Joined: Dec 2008
Reputation:
6
Hi Makote,
Welcome to the forums!
This should certainly be possible. Two questions:
1. Since you're running FT on a separate domain, presumably your forms are just POSTing their data to the Form Tools process.php file?
2. Where does the information that needs to be passed in the query string come from? Do you have it available in the form itself, or do you only figure out what it should be after the form submit?
- Ben
Posts: 4
Threads: 1
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation:
0
(Nov 18th, 2011, 12:24 PM)Ben Wrote: Hi Makote,
Welcome to the forums!
This should certainly be possible. Two questions:
1. Since you're running FT on a separate domain, presumably your forms are just POSTing their data to the Form Tools process.php file?
2. Where does the information that needs to be passed in the query string come from? Do you have it available in the form itself, or do you only figure out what it should be after the form submit?
- Ben
Hope I can answer this.
1. yep I used the external setup from another server I guess this is true.
2 Adwords adds a tracking code like this one "?gclid=CNCftJmwwK...NAod8C4ksA" after it sends visits to the site, it ads a code to the last part of the url, which is getting lost once the form gets sent and the user gets redirected to the thank you page.
BTW this is what im guessing is going on.
Posts: 2,456
Threads: 39
Joined: Dec 2008
Reputation:
6
Hey Makote,
Cool, okay. In that case, what we need to do is actually add in that tracking code name-value pair into the form itself, so that when it's submitted we can tell Form Tools to include the information on the redirect.
One more question: is your form page in plain HTML or .php or other code? (hopefully code!)
- Ben
Posts: 4
Threads: 1
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation:
0
(Nov 18th, 2011, 1:08 PM)Ben Wrote: Hey Makote,
Cool, okay. In that case, what we need to do is actually add in that tracking code name-value pair into the form itself, so that when it's submitted we can tell Form Tools to include the information on the redirect.
One more question: is your form page in plain HTML or .php or other code? (hopefully code!)
- Ben
I'ts plain html but i have no problems on moving onto php if needed got some basic notion on php. For simple tasks.
Posts: 2,456
Threads: 39
Joined: Dec 2008
Reputation:
6
That would be great - it makes it a lot easier.
Once it's change to PHP, do the following.
1. Add a hidden field to your form with this content:
Code: <input type="hidden" name="gclid" value="<?php echo htmlspecialchars(strip_tags(@$_GET["gclid"])); ?>" />
Now, when the page loads, it will extract the gclid value from the query string, do a little legwork to prevent hacking attempts, then hide it in a hidden field.
2. In Form Tools, add a new form field with a field name of "gclid". Now, when the form is submitted, the gclid value will be stored in the database as well.
3. On the Edit Form -> Fields tab, check the "Pass On" column for the gclid field.
Once that's done, the URL that it redirects to should contain the gclid name-value pair.
Hope this helps!
- Ben
Posts: 4
Threads: 1
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation:
0
Thanks Ben, Ill try it this weekend and come back with results, really appreciate you taking the time to answer this.
(Nov 18th, 2011, 5:00 PM)Ben Wrote: That would be great - it makes it a lot easier.
Once it's change to PHP, do the following.
1. Add a hidden field to your form with this content:
Code: <input type="hidden" name="gclid" value="<?php echo htmlspecialchars(strip_tags(@$_GET["gclid"])); ?>" />
Now, when the page loads, it will extract the gclid value from the query string, do a little legwork to prevent hacking attempts, then hide it in a hidden field.
2. In Form Tools, add a new form field with a field name of "gclid". Now, when the form is submitted, the gclid value will be stored in the database as well.
3. On the Edit Form -> Fields tab, check the "Pass On" column for the gclid field.
Once that's done, the URL that it redirects to should contain the gclid name-value pair.
Hope this helps!
- Ben
Posts: 25
Threads: 1
Joined: Jan 2021
Reputation:
0
In that case, what we need to do is actually add-in that tracking code name-value pair into the form itself, so that when it's submitted we can tell Form Tools to include the information on the redirect. This is an amazing website that tells simple steps to follow & you are ready for tracking text messages without installing software. Don't forget to subscribe formtools forum for interesting articles.
|