Posts: 16
Threads: 2
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation:
0
I have a highly customized template using the Form Builder module, you can see an example form at:
http://www.goodallpools.com/formtools/mo...ervice.php
The problem I'm running into is that the notification emails are not sending out when a form is submitted. I am able to send mail via the test feature inside Form Tools, just not when using the actual website.
I also have an issue where I am able to submit blank forms, even though there are required fields. I know I must be missing something in the template, but cannot figure out what that is.
Do you have any ideas as to what may be missing? I've tried copying and pasting the form, etc. from other template sets but with no luck.
Posts: 16
Threads: 2
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation:
0
Posts: 143
Threads: 19
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation:
5
(Apr 20th, 2012, 4:35 AM)karks88 Wrote: I have a highly customized template using the Form Builder module. The problem I'm running into is that the notification emails are not sending out when a form is submitted. I am able to send mail via the test feature inside Form Tools, just not when using the actual website.
I am not familiar with the Form Builder module, but in the world of the FT API, this sounds like a coding error, to be honest. (Not trying to be rude). Have you triple-checked the code in your notification e-mails? Even having one character be wrong can mean no e-mail is sent, at least with the API version.
(Apr 20th, 2012, 4:35 AM)karks88 Wrote: I also have an issue where I am able to submit blank forms, even though there are required fields. I know I must be missing something in the template, but cannot figure out what that is.
Again, not being familiar with the Form Builder module, this sounds like a coding error on the form itself. Unfortunately, I can't be of much help this time, since I'm not experienced with the Form Builder module, yet.
Not a FT employee, just a FT user lending a hand. If I've been helpful, please rate.
Posts: 16
Threads: 2
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation:
0
Apr 27th, 2012, 6:07 AM
(This post was last modified: Apr 27th, 2012, 6:11 AM by karks88.)
Thanks for your reply! Form Builder module actually has a feature that gives you ready-made code for the notification templates. I have been using that code, but will try re-loading it just in case.
Just put fresh code into the notification template, still doesn't work. Most likely I'll just have to go through my theme line by line here to see what's going on.
If I test from within the admin, the mail sends just fine. If I actually go on the site and fill out the form, no mail is sent (although it does show up as a submission in the admin area).
Posts: 16
Threads: 2
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation:
0
This is the form output I get:
Code: <form action="" method="post" enctype="multipart/form-data"
id="ts_form_element_id" name="edit_submission_form">
<input type="hidden" id="form_tools_published_form_id" value="1" />
<a name="s18"></a>
<br />
<table class="table_1" cellpadding="1" cellspacing="1" border="0" width="98%">
<tr>
<td width="180" valign="top">
Your Name
<span class="req">*</span>
</td>
<td class="answer" valign="top">
<div class="pad_left">
<input type="text" name="Your_Name" value=""
class="cf_size_medium"
/>
</div>
</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td width="180" valign="top">
Phone Number
<span class="req">*</span>
</td>
<td class="answer" valign="top">
<div class="pad_left">
<input type="text" name="Phone_Number" value=""
class="cf_size_medium"
/>
</div>
</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td width="180" valign="top">
E-Mail Address
<span class="req">*</span>
</td>
<td class="answer" valign="top">
<div class="pad_left">
<input type="text" name="email" value=""
class="cf_size_medium"
/>
</div>
</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td width="180" valign="top">
Street Address
<span class="req"></span>
</td>
<td class="answer" valign="top">
<div class="pad_left">
<textarea name="Street_Address" id="Street_Address_id" class="cf_size_small"></textarea>
</div>
</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td width="180" valign="top">
City/State Zip
<span class="req"></span>
</td>
<td class="answer" valign="top">
<div class="pad_left">
<input type="text" name="City_State_Zip" value=""
class="cf_size_medium"
/>
</div>
</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td width="180" valign="top">
Have you done business with Goodall Pools in the past?
<span class="req"></span>
</td>
<td class="answer" valign="top">
<div class="pad_left">
<input type="radio" name="Have_you_done_bussines_with_Goodall_previously" id="Have_you_done_bussines_with_Goodall_previously_1"
value="Yes"
/>
<label for="Have_you_done_bussines_with_Goodall_previously_1">Yes</label>
<input type="radio" name="Have_you_done_bussines_with_Goodall_previously" id="Have_you_done_bussines_with_Goodall_previously_2"
value="No"
/>
<label for="Have_you_done_bussines_with_Goodall_previously_2">No</label>
</div>
</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td width="180" valign="top">
Any Questions or Comments?
<span class="req"></span>
</td>
<td class="answer" valign="top">
<div class="pad_left">
<textarea name="Comments" id="Comments_id" class="cf_size_small"></textarea>
</div>
</td>
</tr>
</table>
<div class="ts_continue_button">
<input type="submit" name="form_tools_continue" value="Submit" />
</div>
</form>
Posts: 143
Threads: 19
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation:
5
Apr 30th, 2012, 7:01 AM
(This post was last modified: Apr 30th, 2012, 7:03 AM by michatmaster7.)
Well, while I will say again that I'm not familiar with the Form Builder module, it seems like the form should have an action... When using a simple POST form, usually the action is something like:
Code: <form action="http://www.yoursite.com/path/to/form_tools/process.php" method="post">
Referencing the do-it-yourself way from this tutorial: http://docs.formtools.org/tutorials/addi...page=index
Have you seen this?: http://modules.formtools.org/form_builde...first_form
Not a FT employee, just a FT user lending a hand. If I've been helpful, please rate.
Posts: 16
Threads: 2
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation:
0
Thanks for your help! It seems like Form Bullder is supposed to add the form action automatically, but for some reason that's not happening. The template I'm using has this code in it:
Code: <form action="{{$page_url}}" method="post" enctype="multipart/form-data"
id="ts_form_element_id" name="edit_submission_form">
I'm going to check around and see what possibly might cause this not to work.
Posts: 143
Threads: 19
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation:
5
That looks like a coding error that Ben will need to fix. The PHP code is saying "fill in a URL here, depending on some other stuff." Then the code that checks for the "other stuff" may not be working as intended and thus, no action URL is in the output. Or, I could be totally off base and talking in circles...lol.
Unfortunately, we may need to wait for Ben on this one.
Not a FT employee, just a FT user lending a hand. If I've been helpful, please rate.
Posts: 16
Threads: 2
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation:
0
I really do appreciate your help with this, very nice of you! I am going to see what Ben thinks.
Posts: 2,456
Threads: 39
Joined: Dec 2008
Reputation:
6
Thanks so much, Brandon! I'm looking at this today. Keep you guys posted.
- Ben
|